A Fresh Outlook

Since starting this blog, it has been a great challenge in defining what exactly I want to do with it. I can count many nights spent researching and combing through various blogs seeking advice or answers that would lead me to success.

Lately, I’ve taken a break from all that and  realize that my biggest hindrance was myself. I’ve been a little lazy with my content so I am focusing simply on getting my writing on track before anything else.

Not to mention, I have been needlessly obsessing over followers and views but this time around I told myself “Why don’t I start things off a little more easily?”. I signed up for a Hoot suite account but dropped it as I have too much on my plate right now between school and work.

So, I actually sat down and thought about what do I actually want to do with this blog and what goals do I need to set for myself.

 

  1. No pressure

One of the things that first tripped me up as a blogger was I had such high ambitions it actually made it harder for me to write something because I got it in my mind that I wasn’t capable of producing what I had envisioned. Now, I am just going to take a more laid-back approach and let things flow.

It’s amazing how much clearer my ideas are now that I don’t have a bunch of ideas clamoring around. Next, I want to hone in my exact niche and start tailoring my posts to fit that better.

2. Better Quality

Making a great post with good images has been more time-consuming than I thought and I hope to further improve on this aspect greatly.

3. Implement a Editorial calendar 

Okay. This is much easier said than done but I hope to get on a more organized track with putting content out on a regular basis. Right now, I just kind of write what comes to me so I definitely implement a schedule and stick to it.

4. Avoid Comparisons

This is something I also struggle with greatly. It so easy to scroll through a more popular blogger’s site and get caught up with the various opportunities and content they have but I remind myself that it takes more than one day to build a village.

5. Foster a community

One thing I like about WordPress is the community aspect. It’s really great to be able to access all these sources for help whenever I get stuck but also see other bloggers work and feel inspired by their ambition. I really want my blog to feel like a place where people can freely talk with one another.

Goals

1. 300-500 followers by the end of the year.

2. Make at least two blog posts a week.

3. Curate original content.

4. Let my personality show more.

Have you set any goals for your blog? Share your thoughts, tips and advice down below. I love reading other’s experience!

2 thoughts on “A Fresh Outlook

  1. Just been setting new goals this week! Your point about letting your personality come through is so helpful 😃 I find it hard because I’m a very private person, but it’s kind of hard to connect with people if you don’t!!

    Like

    • As a fellow reserved person, I am glad my post resonated with you! My internships this summer have been a great way for me to break out my shell and connect with others. One of my goals this year is to connect and grow my friendships with people around me.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

